Making Myself at Home

For me, being at home is traveling. People ask me where my home is and sometimes can’t seem to comprehend that I don’t have one home. My favorite is when they ask, “Well, where do you call home?” and I sincerely think to myself, “In both Spain and Denver and when I’m traveling…”. I promise you…it’s true.

AmaliaVida

I’m quoting here something that I just read this morning that wonderfully describes how I feel at home traveling and having a different sense of home than what I think our societies are sometimes more familiar with…what causes you to feel most at home?

Sometimes, we get so busy and involved creating a “home” for ourselves that we create a structure that’s too safe, limiting, and confined. We forget about our real home, the planet earth. It’s good to sleep indoors. It’s nice to make ourselves comfortable in our home. But don’t let your cozy nest become a locked, confining box.

Stretch your arms. Push the lid off the box. Get out into the world. Walk around. Move about. See the hills, the lakes, the forests, the mountain peaks, the valleys, the rivers.

See how big your world can be. See how connected everything is. See how connected you are…

View original post 41 more words